Up so high

Revitalising a traditional brand:
Starting in 2021, deuter will appear in a fresh new brand design that sums up what the market leader stands for. And speaks to a target group of young alpine sports enthusiasts.

deuter.com

Challenge

deuter has long been omnipresent in the German-speaking world. But its logo – in use for over 30 years – had aged and needed a revamp. Not only was it time to boldly redefine the company’s wordmark, but the brand design also needed some freshening up. The aim: make deuter appear more modern and salient, especially on products and online.

 

 

Shared success

With a highly dynamic new brand appearance and redesigned logo, deuter is in a good position to convince consumers starting with its 2021 product portfolio. Our brand strategy and brand design teams redefined the company as a brand for alpine sports. The first visual proof is the distinctive new “deuter d” logo. It’s both younger and more closely linked to the mountains.

Brand Workshop

An evolution or a radical new beginning?

In a workshop we discussed different routes to the new deuter logo. How close should the brand’s new look stay to its traditional one? Ultimately a direction was selected: create a modern visual language and progressive brand design. The results of a brand survey conducted by Zeichen & Wunder played a role in this decision. They revealed that the target group of young alpine sports fans value a recognisable brand.

“Highly experienced, reliable and creative, Zeichen & Wunder was the perfect partner for us. We are delighted with the final results and can hardly wait for our relaunch in 2021.”

Christina Völlinger
Head of Marketing at deuter

Hands on: A glance at deuter’s logo through the decades exemplifies how, time and again, the company has reinvented itself. And that it doesn’t shy away from radical change. Working together, we’ve ushered this tradition into the future – with a logo that continues to speak to loyal customers of the brand, while also catching the eye of the target group and standing out from international competitors.

deuter Corprorate Design Übersicht

Based on the updated brand strategy, we collaborated with deuter to create a brand statement and brand flyer. Both were revealed at the 2021 International Sales Meeting where it once again became apparent that truly coherent brand design always needs a solid strategic foundation. The brand flyer illustrates why it was time for a new logo. And that deuter stands for alpine sports, accountability, and craftsmanship.

The dynamic d – convincing in all sizes!

The new “deuter d” is highly scalable, meaning it works exceptionally well in all digital applications as well as on products – whether on tiny rucksack clasps or stitched. The dynamic, two-part “d” draws attention to the brand, giving it a tidy, modern twist. The wordmark with bespoke typeface along with the complementary brand design, both shown in the 2021 campaign, portray the brand as a down-to-earth, likeable and elegant trailblazer – based on the brand identity values.

“Over the past 120 years deuter always reinvented itself. Our ability to be courageous and innovative from early on set the right tone. Now we’re heading into the future with a new logo and a new brand design.”

Robert Schieferle
Managing Director of deuter

Hoch hinaus

Frischzellenkur für eine Traditionsmarke:
Das neue Brand Design für deuter bringt ab 2021 auf den Punkt, worum es bei dem Marktführer geht – und nimmt eine junge, bergsportbegeisterte Zielgruppe ins Visier.

deuter.com

Herausforderung

deuter ist im deutschsprachigen Raum allgegenwärtig. Zugleich war das alte Logo über 30 Jahre im Einsatz – Grund genug für eine mutige Neuausrichtung der Wortbild-Marke und des Brand Designs, das besonders auf Produkten und im digitalen Umfeld durch Modernität und Prägnanz überzeugt.

Erfolg

Mit einem besonders dynamischen Markenauftritt überzeugt deuter im Zuge seiner Produktvorstellung zur Saison 2021. Im Zentrum steht das neue Markenlogo. Unsere Teams aus Brand Strategy und Brand Design haben hierzu das Profil des Anbieters als alpine Bergsportmarke neu justiert. Erstes sichtbares Ergebnis ist das neue, charakterstarke „deuter-d“ – jünger und noch näher am Berg.

Brand Workshop

Evolutionäre Weiterentwicklung oder radikaler Neubeginn?

Verschiedene Routen zur neuen Wortbild-Marke von deuter werden im Workshop diskutiert. Wie nah am traditionellen Erscheinungsbild soll der neue Markenauftritt sein? Anschließend wird die wegweisende Richtung hin zu einer moderneren Formsprache und zu einem progressiven Markendesign gestellt. Grundlage hierfür ist auch eine Markenumfrage von Zeichen & Wunder – die zeigt, wie wichtig der Wiedererkennungswert insbesondere für junge, bergsportbegeisterte Zielgruppen ist.

„Mit Zeichen & Wunder - ihrer jahrelangen Erfahrung, Zuverlässigkeit und vor allem Kreativität - hatten wir den perfekten Partner an unserer Seite. Wir sind sehr happy über das tolle Ergebnis und können den Neustart in 2021 kaum erwarten.“

Christina Völlinger
Leitung Marketing deuter

Hands on: Die Logo-Geschichte von deuter zeigt, dass sich das Unternehmen immer wieder neu erfunden hat und auch radikale Neuerungen im Logo-Design nicht scheut. Diese schöne Tradition führen wir nun gemeinsam in die Zukunft – mit einem Logo, das die bewährte Stammklientel mitnimmt, das attraktiv für die Zielgruppen der Zukunft ist – und auch im internationalen Wettbewerb hervorsticht.

deuter Corprorate Design Übersicht

Auf Basis der überarbeiteten Markenstrategie entwickelten wir gemeinsam mit deuter ein Brand Statement und einen Marken-Flyer, der zuerst im Rahmen des International Sales Meeting für 2021 zum Einsatz kam. Hier zeigte sich wieder einmal, dass ein wirklich stimmiges Brand Design nur auf einer substanziellen, soliden strategischen Grundlage entwickelt werden kann; der Brand Flyer bringt anschaulich auf den Punkt, warum es Zeit für ein neues Logo wurde – und, dass deuter für Bergsport, Verantwortung und Craftsmanship steht.

Das dynamische d: In allen Größen überzeugend!

Das neue „deuter-d“ ist besonders gut skalierbar – und kommt so in digitalen Anwendungen, aber auch auf den Produkten, bis hin zu kleinen Rucksackschnallen oder gestickt, einfach genial zur Geltung. Die besondere Dynamik des zweigeteilten „d“ verleiht der Marke deuter Aufmerksamkeitsstärke, Modernität und Prägnanz. Zusammen mit der typografisch individuell gestalteten Wortmarke und dem begleitenden Brand Design, das mit der Kampagne 2021 sichtbar wird, zeigt sich das Unternehmen zukunftsweisend als puristisch eleganter Sympathieträger – und das auf Basis der Werte aus der Brand Identity.

„In über 120 Jahren hat sich deuter immer wieder neu erfunden. Unser Mut und unsere Innovationsfreude haben von Anfang an Zeichen gesetzt. Nun brechen wir mit einem neuen Logo und einem neuen Markendesign in die Zukunft auf.“

Robert Schieferle
Geschäftsführer deuter